Minister for Trade and Investment, Andrew Robb, today chaired the first meeting of the Trade and Investment Policy Advisory Council (TIPAC) at Parliament House, Canberra.

Mr Robb established the 20-member TIPAC as an important source of advice to advance the Abbott Government’s ambitious trade and investment agenda.

At today’s meeting Mr Robb acknowledged the unique and high quality commercial perspective that members brought to the table.

“Today we listened to some of Australia’s best business minds about what is going on in their sectors.  There was discussion of how Australian companies can better tap into global markets, and back our country’s strengths to ensure we compete regionally and globally,” Mr Robb said.

TIPAC members are highly respected in their fields and offer insight and expertise across all of the areas of Australia’s key economic strengths: resources and energy, food and agribusiness, banking and finance, international education, tourism and hospitality and health and medical research.

TIPAC members discussed how they could work with the Government to enhance trade and investment outcomes, further cut red and green tape and how Australia can take advantage of its geographic location, educated and culturally diverse workforce and strong economic position to seek further foreign investment.

TIPAC members committed to working together on a regular basis to continue to add their commercial perspective on trade and investment policy.

Members of the Trade and Investment Policy Advisory Council include: Mehrdad Baghai, Mauro Balzarini, Graham Burke, Robin Chambers AO, Mark Chiba, Rowen Craigie, Paul Espie, Claire Field, Colette Garnsey OAM, Professor Sandra Harding, Alex Harvey, Ashok Jacob, David Knox, Roy Krzywosinski, Joy Linton, Peter O’Brien, Philippa Purser, Jason Yeap, Yasushi Takahashi and Alison Watkins.

Media enquiries

  • Trade Minister's Office: (02) 6277 7420
  • DFAT Media Liaison: (02) 6261 1555