The Hon. Mark Vaile, MP
The Hon. Mark Vaile, MP

A printer-friendly version of this document is available.

Media release

Australian Minister for Trade, Mark Vaile
Wednesday, 13 June 2001

Vaile announces new WTO Advisory Group

Trade Minister Mark Vaile today announced the membership of an advisory group that will provide expert advice to the Government on World Trade Organisation issues.

"The group will be chaired by Mr Geoff Allen, who is also the chair of the government's peak business advisory group on trade, the Trade Policy Advisory Council," Mr Vaile said.

"In appointing the Members, the Government has brought together a group of experts with enormous depth of experience across an increasingly complex international trade agenda. Group members are drawn from industry and community groups, the trade union movement and academia. "(See Attached List)

"I announced my intention to establish an advisory group at the launch of the 2001 Trade Outcomes and Objectives Statement in April.

"The WTO Advisory Group is a key element of the broad-based consultative strategy being pursued by the Government to better engage the community in formulating Australia's approach to the WTO.

"The views of the advisory group will play an important role in sharpening our trade strategies and in defining our negotiating position and proposals in advance of the 4th WTO Ministerial Conference, to be held in Doha, Qatar in November.

"Australia strongly supports the launch of a new round this year, and the WTO Advisory Group will be an important means of ensuring all views can be taken into account as we prepare for this vital meeting."

Other elements of the Government's strategy to engage the community in discussions on WTO-related issues include round-table discussions with non-government groups, a call for public submissions and the enhancement of the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade's channels for the distribution of information, particularly through the DFAT website (

Mr Vaile will convene the first meeting of the WTO Advisory Group in Canberra on 27 June.

WTO Advisory Group

Mr Geoff Allen
Chairman, The Allen Consulting Group

Maureen Barron
Chair, Australian Film Commission

Ms Anna Cronin
Executive Director, National Farmers Federation

Mr Tony D'Aloisio
Chief Executive Partner, Mallensons, Stephens Jaques

Mr Robert Durie
Executive Director, Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA)

Mr Saul Eslake
Chief Economist, ANZ Bank Ltd

Mr Don Henry
Executive Director, Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF)

Mr Mitchell Hooke
Chief Executive, Australian Food and Grocery Council

Mr Bill Mansfield
Assistant Secretary, Australian Council of Trade Unions

Mrs Cathy McGowan
President, Australian Women in Agriculture

Mr Mark Paterson
Chief Executive, Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (ACCI)

Professor Michael Pryles
Adjunct Professor of Law, Bond University; Partner, Minter Ellison

Mr Leigh Purnell
Executive Director, Australian Industries Group (AIG)

Mr Jim Redden
Policy Director, Australian Council for Overseas Aid (ACFOA)

Professor Paul Rizzo
Director, Melbourne Business School

Ms Fiona Wain
Chief Executive Officer, Environment Management Industry Association of Australia


Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy

Local Date: Tuesday, 07-Jan-2014 10:04:07 EST